Chocolate Orange Cupcakes

Hey everyone!

So today I am doing my first ever baking blog post! So I don’t know how this will go and I might not even post this but anyway, lets get started! Oh, and also, let me know if you try out this recipe and if you like it or not! Also I did kinda make up this recipe myself but used a basic cupcake recipe to make the cakes, but obviously added some stuff!

IMG_2799

You will need:

For the cakes-

175g unsalted butter (Stork gives the best results)

175g caster sugar

3 medium eggs

175g self-raising flour

2tbsp whole milk

Cocoa powder

For the icing- 

110g butter

225g icing sugar

Zest and juice from 5 oranges

3tbsp cocoa powder


 

IMG_2817.JPGFirst, preheat the oven to 190 °C and put some big cake cases into a muffin tin. I don’t use cupcake tins often because I just don’t like them! I find muffin tins a lot nicer and easier to use!

Next pop your butter and sugar in a bowl and mix until light and fluffy.

Once that is done, crack your eggs in and mix until just combined. Be careful though, because you don’t want your mixture to curdle so only beat for a minute or so.

Then sieve half the flour into the mixture, along with 1tbsp of milk. Once that’s all combined, add the rest of the flour and milk along with about 25g cocoa powder.

Now that’s mixed in, you need to use your personal judgement. If you think your cakes need more cocoa, then put some more cocoa in! I added a few more tbsp’s and they turned out great.

Pop the mixture into the cases, making sure there’s roughly the same amount of mixture in each one, then bake them for 23 minutes!


Put the icing sugar in a bowl along with the cocoa powder and mix with a wooden spoon.

 Then, add the butter and mix until creamy. The mixture needs a bit of moisture, so instead of using milk, use the juice of the oranges and mix it all in.IMG_2812

At this stage, you can either mix the orange zest in or use it to decorate. I decided to mix it in because… I just wanted to!

Now you have your icing, wait until the cakes are cool and then, ice away!

IMG_2825

IMG_2836

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Orange Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

